New big white gun from Pentax, announcement in May 2012

Here is a officially leaked new lens from Pentax.

No real information on this yet, my best guess is that it’s a re-tweak of the 600mm f:5.6 of the late 1994-2004 era. Possibly a DA* lens, and maybe $8K+

I did like the 50mm f:1.8 as that’s is a nice niche prime, and they need to replace the FA 50mm f:1.4 ($250 CAD) that was replaced with the $900 CAD smc PENTAX DA* 55mm F1.4 . I feel the new 50mm has to be priced at $150 to compete with Nikon’s and Canon’s 50mm f:1.8 lenses.

Here is the lens I would like to see Pentax update and bring to the marketplace.

Technical Specifications

Optics
Optical Formula 16 elements in 13 groups
Aperture Range f/2.8 ~ f/32
Number of Aperture Blades 9
Minimum Focusing Distance 1.4 m
Maximum Magnification 0.19 X
Special Features extra-low dispersion element(s), internal focusing
Mechanics
Filter Diameter 77 mm
Maximum Diameter 88 mm
Length 195 mm
Weight 1510 g
Special Features tripod collar, AF/MF clutch, power zoom
Accessories
Cap plastic clip-on cap, 77 mm
Fitting Hood(s) bayonet hood: PH-RBC77
Fitting Case(s) soft case: S120-230

Here was the Pentax lens line up circa 1995~2001

Note I do have the outstanding smc Pentax-M* 300mm f:4 that was an ED lens,and I own some great manual focus Pentax primes.

Darrell Larose
Ottawa

About Darrell Larose

I am a highly motivated self confessed techno-geek. While rooted in traditional analog photography, I have embraced the new technologies in photography. I am just as comfortable under the dark cloth of a large-format view camera, as I am with a digital camera. I can produce award winning photographs within the darkroom, or from a digital-desktop. With 40 years of photography as a both hobby, and over 30 in the professional arena I have always produced. I am self-taught in the digital media, I have been a PhotoShop user since 1995 (version 2.5) I found the transition fairly seamless due to my long experience in labs. I have worked within various Government photo units, including the Forensic Photo Section of the RCMP, as well as various professional labs. I can easily converse with a police forensic photographer as I can with a wedding sports or commercial photographer. I have worked for several of Ottawa’s top photographers. I have worked at several pro labs. As well as many years in photo retail.
This entry was posted in 1, General, General Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New big white gun from Pentax, announcement in May 2012

  1. Chris says:

    “Here is the lens I would like to see Pentax update and bring to the marketplace”
    So what do you think about the new HD D FA* 70-200mm ED DC AW ?

Leave a Reply

