Dancing Flora

One of the little used features of my antique Pentax ✩istD dSLR camera, was it has the ability to do in-camera multiple exposures. I can do up 9 exposures in a single frame. Trick with a multi exposure, is you reduce the exposure by one stop per frame, so a double-exposure you close the lens down by 1 full stop.

My first attempt was these Spring Beauties, 3 exposure frame of this grouping.

springbeauty

I was hand holding to enhance the dance.  I did one frame way out of focus, and 2 frames with a slight focus adjustment, the breeze also added to the “Dancing Flora” effect. Next is a 4 exposure, and was slightly overexposed for a more airy effect. I enjoy how it looks like dragonflies in flight.

Spring2

I was hand holding hence the solid unmoving wall is repeated. The tulips I did one frame way out of focus, and 3 frames with a slight focus adjustment, the breeze also added to the “Dancing Flora” effect.

IMGP3014
A slight exposure adjustment with a 5 exposure image first and third frame out of focus like one does for the Orton Effect.

TulipDance

Now I did a triple exposure one frame out of focus, with the following exposures adjusted on different blooms.

IMGP3047

 

Finally I noticed my Ferns were being shaking by my air conditioner exhaust.  I liked the visual effect so I went with a 4 frame exposure I focused on the frond in each layer. I added a bit of grain with Photoshop CS6.

IMGP9485

Overall there is some hit-and-miss with this technique, but when the image works it becomes magic.
Darrell A. Larose
© 2016 Ottawa

About Darrell Larose

I am a highly motivated self confessed techno-geek. While rooted in traditional analog photography, I have embraced the new technologies in photography. I am just as comfortable under the dark cloth of a large-format view camera, as I am with a digital camera. I can produce award winning photographs within the darkroom, or from a digital-desktop. With 40 years of photography as a both hobby, and over 30 in the professional arena I have always produced. I am self-taught in the digital media, I have been a PhotoShop user since 1995 (version 2.5) I found the transition fairly seamless due to my long experience in labs. I have worked within various Government photo units, including the Forensic Photo Section of the RCMP, as well as various professional labs. I can easily converse with a police forensic photographer as I can with a wedding sports or commercial photographer. I have worked for several of Ottawa’s top photographers. I have worked at several pro labs. As well as many years in photo retail.
This entry was posted in 1, Equipment, flora, Fun with PhotoShop, General, General Photography, Graphic Art, Nature, PENTAX and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing Flora

  1. That way of shooting the blue ones made me think they where going to come alive!

Leave a Reply

