Going Buggy into Autumn

Today was the first day of Autumn, the thermometer was still hitting 27 degrees. Headed back to the Sunflower patch. Spotted another species of wasp, but it wouldn’t stay still long enough to photograph. Eventually colder mornings will slow many of these insects down. Once again I carried my aged Pentax ✩istD SMC-M 50mm f:4 Macro lens on Pentax T6-2X teleconverter, flash fill. This combination required me to be 2″ from the front of the lens to the subject.

imgp0668

imgp0628

Paper wasp (Polistes dominula) on sunflower, Thursday September 22nd, 2016 (both).

imgp0636

imgp0629

Common green bottle fly (Lucilia sericata) on sunflower, Thursday September 22nd, 2016

imgp0654

These are very difficult as my macro lens only does 1:2 or half life size on the image plane. It’s also a f:4, so with the T6-2X Rear Converter mounted the effective maximum aperture is f:8. Lens was closed down to f:8-11 so works out to effectively f: 16-22, hand-held. Tripods are pretty much useless with small moving targets.

Went back today, Friday September 23, 2016. It was a more seasonal day weather wise. Lots of Bumblebees, honeybees, wasps, flies, ants and a few moths. I wasn’t able to get close enough to the small moths.

imgp0699

Common green bottle fly (Lucilia sericata) on sunflower, Thursday September 22nd, 2016

imgp0673
imgp0721

 

imgp0714

Half black bumblebee (Bombus vagans) on sunflower, Friday September 23nd, 2016.

imgp0747
imgp0742

Black Ant, on sunflower, Thursday September 22nd, 2016

Went back on Sunday, a sunny but more seasonal 11 degree day.

imgp0820

Paper wasp (Polistes dominula) on sunflower, Sunday September 25th, 2016

imgp0864 Common green bottle fly (Lucilia sericata) on sunflower, Thursday September 22nd, 2016

imgp0883Common housefly (Musca domestic) on sunflower, Sunday September 25th, 2016

imgp0884Green Metallic Bee (Gapostemon virescens) on sunflower, Sunday September 25th, 2016

 

Darrell A. Larose
Ottawa, Canada

About Darrell Larose

I am a highly motivated self confessed techno-geek. While rooted in traditional analog photography, I have embraced the new technologies in photography. I am just as comfortable under the dark cloth of a large-format view camera, as I am with a digital camera. I can produce award winning photographs within the darkroom, or from a digital-desktop. With 40 years of photography as a both hobby, and over 30 in the professional arena I have always produced. I am self-taught in the digital media, I have been a PhotoShop user since 1995 (version 2.5) I found the transition fairly seamless due to my long experience in labs. I have worked within various Government photo units, including the Forensic Photo Section of the RCMP, as well as various professional labs. I can easily converse with a police forensic photographer as I can with a wedding sports or commercial photographer. I have worked for several of Ottawa’s top photographers. I have worked at several pro labs. As well as many years in photo retail.
This entry was posted in 1, Autumn, Equipment, flora, General, General Photography, macro, Nature, NIK Dfine2, sunflower and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

