A walk on a winter’s day with the K-3II

Day 5 with my new Pentax K-3II camera, today the weather was a pleasant winter day at -8°, instead of the -21° we have been “enjoying”. I grabbed my 3 kg Marchioni Brothers Tiltall tripod and mounted my SMC Pentax-FA 50mm f:1.4 Prime lens. I went out for a afternoon walk. On Gloucester & O’Connor Streets I liked the juxtaposition of the stainless steel clad Bank of Canada and the new KPMG building with the old church between them.

_img0138

 

On the Laurier Bridge I created a 90 megapixel 4-frame panorama.

untitled_panorama1

While on the bridge, I looked down. I was attracted to the scarred ice surface. I waited until a had three people in a triangular composition.

_img0161

While shooting I dropped my glove off the bridge, a skater kindly grabbed it and placed in on the canal wall below so I could retrieve it. I went down the stairs to the canal and retrieved move glove, and I liked what the light was doing on the geodesic wall of the Shaw Centre.

_img0165

A bit of NIK HDR added to the image. I took a series of the structure.

_img0166

_img0169

_img0175

On my way home over Nepean Street and Bank Street to over Kent Street as far as Gladstone was a huge Murder of Crows. Below is a section of them over Florence Street, near Bank. Far too many to count, but clearly hundreds of them.

_img0204

 

 

Darrell Larose
Ottawa

 

Leave a Reply

